Leader Of The Pack

I’m running through  a thick wooded forest. A group of 13 men are after me. My legs are trembling and giving out to the earth beneath me. The trees are spinning and ferociously trying to grab me with their arms. I cannot go any farther. I grab a tree stump that has been cut down for firewood to only weaken me as I try to stand up. I collapse. Looking over my shoulder I see an opening to what appears to be an open field. My gut extinct says not to weary that way, but there is no other option. If I go to the open I will be a target with no defense. I look around and see no alternative. My mind races back to what I was taught as a child. My breath is filling up like a balloon and slowly being squeezed out.

This is my last stance and I am fed up. I bend on one knee and look to the heavens above and silently express my love and gratitude for everything I have. The men are in the background. Their feet crushing the leaves like a hound dog tracking a criminal. Why am I the criminal when they’re doing wrong? Doesn’t matter. In a dead run I sprint for the opening. Making it time…I thought. Running right into the circle I stop dead on. There is no other path leading elsewhere. I see no entrance point. My mind relaxes, hands drop down, my head leans forward, and I inhale defeat and exhale freedom. I, once again, bend on one knee to show my honor and giggle for the relief.

As I am doing this last respect I hear a rumbling. My hair on my body stands to attention. My heart throbbing, I look behind me. The men seeking my soul is coming from the south. I look to the north and a pack of Clydesdale and Mustang horses are coming my way. Their encompassing me from two directions. My instinct is to bail. Someone whispers, “stand still.” Tears are dripping down my face and my muscles in my body are seeking refuge. I feel drunk and my stomach wants to regurgitate everything I ate. My lips are twitching while I watch the 30 plus horses  ravage towards me. They are coming directly in my line. I will be trampled! I turn to run and someone’s arms wrap around me to keep me still. The horses are upon me. They split up between me running full force and circling me. One, two, three, four, five, and the sixth horse speeding by me, a mustang, stops and someone throws me up on him.  No saddle, I grab his mane and he takes the lead with me on him. We are heading towards the brink of the open field.

My escape is at hand! Jah!!!! Suddenly the pact of horses with me in the lead changes direction without my control. I’m not in control…but I know who is. I don’t understand! We are heading towards the men who are in the field that was seeking to hurt me! I’m heading right to them! They see me on the lead horse and the Clydesdale’s in full speed coming towards them. Half of them run and the other half is stunned and unable to move. My horse charges forward. The leader of them met my eyes with fear. I feel something on my back as I hold on at 50 mph. I reach up behind my back and feel a cold metal object. Someone tightened my finders around it and I fearfully pulled it upward. It’s a sword! I knew that instant. I point it upward and cry out, “let your will be done.”I point my sword to the ungodly men and I am in battle…throw me to the pack and watch Jah have me come back leading them…

Leave a Reply

